Introducing Euro-westerns

Hi there, I’m very new at this, it’s my first ever post anywhere!! Anyway as a long term fan of the genre it is something I watched alone. None of my friends would watch Italo westerns. So my question to the community is:
What movie would you recommend to someone to hook them on to the genre?

2 Likes

Hi Ali! Welcome to the forum! Stick around amigo, we’re a friendly bunch.

As to your query, I personally found that the way to go is to motor through our own SWDB Spaghetti Westerns Top 20 from top to bottom. Or from bottom to top. Or in any order you like, really! You can’t go wrong with those, and almost all have received decent blu-ray releases in recent years. Enjoy!

For people interested in movies generally - any Leone. If I was about to show someone who might be into genre/cult films but not Spags yet, then I would go with a Corbucci.

Glad to be here!!
My No.1 is For a few Dollars More. In 2012 I visited Mini Hollywood, a theme park built around Carlo Simi’s sets for that film. It was a dream walk where your heroes did. My girlfriend got so fed up of me pointing out where various scenes took place.

Interesting you should say that. My attempts at screening Leone has always failed. Corbucci is the heart of the genre. Companeros is the only one that went down well for me.

Hi Ali,

I would forget about introducing any genre to new people, if they are interested enough in film, and this type of production then they will discover it for themselves.

Just enjoy the movies you like in your own time and don’t try to convert those who will probably be bored to death.

PS: This is from experience … I also brought my EX- girlfriend to Almeria. :crazy_face:

Wise words! I will keep viewing and discussing it with Spag-west community!:cowboy_hat_face:
Did your girlfriend enjoy Almeria?

1 Like

She enjoyed visiting the area, but had no appreciation for the film history - so I mostly explored solo.