Yucca City - Documentary photography project in Almeria [update]

Hi folks!

I’ve posted a bit here and there on the forum, but read a lot more silently on the background. I am a documentary photographer that will reside in the Almeria area until early december, pursuing a project there.

The locations are all in the jurisdictional zone of Almeria (with the possible exception of the very nearby Gaudix locations), focussing soley on the movies of Sergio Leone. Later on this year I will go back to visit the other sites in Spain.

The final project will be published in the form of an art-book, and obviously exhibitioned throughout europe over time. In my startup period I have had some great help from Scherpschutter and Phil to find important resources in the world of the Spaghetti western - one I was quite unaware of only a few months ago. I dont need to elaborate any further on the addictiveness of SW’s and Sergio’s movies in particular - I’m spending every available hour of the day reading, watching, biking, walking or driving with only the films in my mind.

In contrast to many photos posted here of locations I am not looking for a ‘copy’ of a scene, but I am re-interpreting scenes. After some consideration of a place I re-evaluate it’s characteristics and properties and chose the proper lighting, composition/framing and such. Since I am a documentary-art photographer you will find that I am often trying to mix the present and historical into a single image.
Also in the near future I will start making portraits of extra’s that once played a role in the SL’ movies, and am contemplating to use extra’s of my own to create a almost mythical place that crosses time and space, fiction and fact, real and constructed - in a manner that does justice to the conceptual greatness of Leone’s masterpieces.