VOTE FOR YOUR BEST 15 MUSIC COMPOSERS/CONDUCTORS IN WESTERNS FILM/TV

DOMINIC FRONTIERE MARTIN BOTCHER LUIS E. BACALOV ENNIO MORRICONE

I think you forgot Horner
He’s not a special favourite of mine, but I know many people love him

I have not voted for some obvious names like Bernard Herrmann or John Williams
I see Bacharach more as a songwriter than as a soundtrack writer

I must admit that I’m not an expert on this subject
Like to read some comments of ENNIOO here

(I realize now - too late - that you forgot Nino Rota too!)

@ Scherp

Thanks for voting and making comments on additions.
Nino Rota has made good music Like Plein Soleil 59 , but Like James Horner NO Westerns.
Poor Herrmann and Williams they could have done with your votes :’( :smiley:
Burt Bacharach I agree is a superb songwriter but he did the score for 1 weatern at least.

I have added the recently dead LEONARD ROSENMAN who was excellent in 60s/70s Films

ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS/ADDITIONS/COMMENTS SPEAK NOW PLEASE

[quote=“SARTANA DJANGO, post:3, topic:923”]Nino Rota has made good music Like Plein Soleil 59 , but Like James Horner NO Westerns.

ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS/ADDITIONS/COMMENTS SPEAK NOW PLEASE[/quote]

Sorry, didn’t notice ‘in westerns’

SD: great list again !Could you add Cyril J. Mockridge to your list? He was the composer in My Darling Clementine, The Man who shot Liberty Vallance and a lot of other western. :wink:
Dimitri Tiomkin should be also in your poll! :wink:

Lallo and Coriolano Gori are one and the same person.

Well as the list includes some composers that have only composed one western, here are a few to be considered perhaps:

1. Lennie Niehaus …Unforgiven and Pale Rider.

2. Roy Budd…Catlow and Soldier Blue.

3. Nino Oliviero…Ringo Del Nebraska.

4. Bruce Broughton…Tombstone, Silverado.

5. Sante Maria Romitelli…Gods Gun, Two Sons of Trinity, Shoot, Gringo… Shoot!

6. Ry Cooder…The Long Riders, Geronimo… An American Legend.