Unavailable on DVD?

Hey All,

I’m somewhat new to the world of Spaghetti Western DVDs. I have always been a fan of SWs, especially Leone’s movies, but have only recently discovered that there is a whole variety of movies available on DVD, and I have frantically been buying them up and watching them over and over.
I do have a question though, a lot of the movies that I have been buying, have been based on reviews of websites such as this one and others. But what do other people do about titles that are apparently unavailable on DVD? Titles such as The Big Gundown and Face to Face? Are these available and I’m just not finding them? Do people still collect VHS? Bootleg DVDs?
Any help would appreciated, as I am most interested in finding these movies.

Us old timers collect these films in any format we can get our hands on just to be able to watch them. Many of these films we’ve seen gray on white from 25th generation copies. You should check e-bay, i-offer and other auction sites as many of the films released on video originally have been copied over to DVD-Rs. There are also folks who have put versions together from multiple videos, DVDs etc. to get as complete a copy as possible of the film. You’ll be watching an English language copy and all of a sudden the actors are speaking German or Spanish for a few seconds and then back to English. They have added a missing scene to the English release.

Franco Cleef has put together quite a few DVD-R’s with English dialogue that were not availble to us here in the Americas. You can pick these up at Xploited Video on their Internet site. We also trade all over the world for copies not available anywhere else. I’d get myself a universal DVD player to be able to watch all these formats etc. otherwise your selection ability will be limited. You will also meet a great bunch of people this way and broaden your view of films and what is available.

Good hunting.