Shooting a spaghetti western on greenscreen

Hi,

I’m a young filmmaker from Norway and we’re going to shoot a short western on a greenscreen. We’re calling it “In the sands of Mexico” and it will be about 5 minutes long. The concept is to use backdrops from other spaghetti westerns and fuse our actors into them (ala Kung Pow). I’ve been trying to look for the right locations in the films I own, but there is also the copyright problem. I’ve tried to download those movies that are in public domain. The problem is there is so many and the download speed is a drag. So I thought maybe someone on here could help me out and think of the right films for the scenes I’ve written. The locations is the outside of an adobe in the mountains & inside the adobe (like the scene in the start of The Good, The Bad and the Ugly with Lee Van Cleef) and an open stretch that would look like it was just nearby (here there will be a mexican stand-off). Hope someone can atleast help me a bit on the way!

-Espen Olaisen

The opening scenes from Johnny Yuma spring to mind.

3 bandidos approach a lonely adobe, they go inside then after the shootout Johnny rides off across the arid landscape. It’s in public domain in a pretty nice looking widescreen print too.

There are no public domain spaghetti westerns in Europe, only in America where copyrights are not respected. As you’re from Norway, I’d advise you not to use any spaghetti western footage.

By the way, a guy from South Africa over at archive.org has a remarkably similar idea.

[quote=“rdb1211”]Can someone please help me find out if this Film is Public Domain? Been doing Research but get conflicting information:(

Title:
“They Call Me Trinity” (1970)(Italian : Lo chiamavano Trinità) also known as “My Name is Trinity”.
(IMDB: Die rechte und die linke Hand des Teufels (1970) - IMDb)

I’m a Producer/Writer/Director from South-Africa & we would like to take a Public Domain Film & ‘Re-Edit’/‘Re-Dub’ it.