How did he do it?

You know how Tarantino was able to make Django Unchained, a tribute to the Django films, both official and unofficial? How did he do it?

Well, with Tarantino being one of the top ten ultimate film buffs and having been self taught in filmmaking, I would have to say it was a mixture of his love of paying homage to his all time favorite genres and his originality in storytelling. He also did consult history books and varied other forms of research to get that period of time in the South, with all the contrasting beauty and ugliness that was present in it, right.

Sometimes he over-exaggerates things, but generally I would say he did what any other filmmaker does, the research, pitching it to various producers, and writing a treatment in such a way that peaks interest in seeing what would happen when he expanded it.

Do you theorize Disney could also do a tribute/homage to Spaghetti Westerns? You know use Spaghetti Western names and characters?

In terms of Disney actually doing a film that would be a new kind of SW as well as paying homage to the genre, I would have to say no, only because Disney wants nothing to do with R rated films and film types that would only appeal to a select audience. The closest film for kids that ever acknowledged the SW genre was Rango from 2011 in which a mysterious character that looks very much like Clint Eastwood’s Man with No Name helps out the title character. There was a film being made in Italy a year or so back that’s very much a new is SW is called Oro e Piombo (Gold or Lead), here’s the trailer

I myself am in the starting process to come up with a good SW story to film in the Old Tuscon Studios in Tuscon Arizona.

The Mandalorian is already a spaghetti western of sorts :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Well maybe they could make it work for them. They are able to do anything. They have proven that movies don’t R-Ratings or R-Rated materials to be successful.