Making a NEW Spaghetti Western advice

Hi guys, we are trying to make a new spaghetti western. It’s called 10 in the Ground. We are fund raising right now. I have been in love with the genre since I first saw the original Sergio Leone Dollars Trilogy. Now we are trying to make one. What always stood out to you? The modern western is just not as much fun. We are not making a spoof. It is intended to be a serious spaghetti. As I polish the script what would you add?

4 Likes

So you’re Italian? Or the funding is Italian? Or you’re filming in Italy?

1 Like

Hi there,

First off, would you like any help with the screenplay/script? I’m an amateur writer looking to get to write a real film, and would try my hardest to give you good material. Please let me know if this is something we can do.

As to the stuff that sticks out to us the fans, I would go with the following: one of the border towns between Mexico and the USA as the setting of the film, vast desert landscapes, the loner anti-hero protagonist, the sadistic villain antagonist, i.e. the marauding Mexican bandido, the corrupt land baron, and/or the wicked gunslinging outlaw, the Morricone style scores, and of course the edgy, and gritty atmosphere we all love and adore.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

To me the look and sound of it are just as important as the story, if not more. The comic style imagery with extreme closeups and panoramic long shots. Costumes and props should all look well used and dirty, except maybe for a rich villain or stylish hero who may have a weird baroque appearance. The actors should look equally “exposed to the elements” (imho nicely trimmed and freshly blow-dried hair kills any filthy look as much as close-ups of very clean hands :nerd_face:). Lots of sun, lots of sweat. :slight_smile: