Django (Sergio Corbucci, 1966)

Hello guys,
I’m a little new to western. Of course I’ve seen the odd classic and I’m a huge admirer of Sam Raimis “The Quick and the Dead”, but I still lack a lot of insight-knowledge. Currently I’m looking out for a decent DVD-Release of the very first “Django”-Movie, so which DVD is the best one to get? I haven’t seen it yet, so I also wanna know if it’s worth the hype. And then I heard that the director let himself inspire by certain thematic-elements of classical Samurai-Movies. Can anyone confirm this, or is it just bullshit and internet-gossip? Thanks for any insight on this matter.

For more info visit:
DATABASE PAGE: Django - The Spaghetti Western Database (spaghetti-western.net)

Give Django your rating out of 5 stars!
0 voters

The best available version is probably Blue-underground version. I prefer to watch it with Italian language and english subtitles as the english dub is quite bad.

And yeah, I’d say it’s a great movie but if you’re new to spaghetti westerns you will probably love it or hate it. It depends on what kind of movies you’re used to watch.

1 Like

depending on where you are from you might also want to consider the British DVD or the German DVD (in Germany be careful to get the Kinowelt release as there are millions of Django films especially in German).

But yeah, the Blue Underground DVD (more or less identical with the German and British one) is the best to get

as a pretty new spag fan myself,i would say django is a good place to start.just dont expect anything to be as cood as the eastwood films.how about a top ten from all of the experts? so us beginers can know the cream of the crop.so far my purchases have been mixed.the good…django,compeneros,death rides a horse.the o.k…mannaja,trade your pistol for a coffin,beyond the law.the bad…tammazo…capt apache,man called noon.