Any writers hereabouts?

Not sure if this belongs in Town Hall or the Saloon, but I was just wondering if any of you are writers and have done any books, short stories, or screenplays? I’m currently working on a very spaghetti-influenced screenplay; I am by no means a professional and this will probably never be seen by human eyes other than mine and my wife’s, but I’m enjoying it and was curious if anyone else has ventured down this road.

I’ve found that Any Gun Can Play (the book) has been a very helpful read as I go through this. The construction of it, grouping movies by theme and examining the different ways they might tackle a subject (plus presenting all the most common spaghetti western themes in an organized way), gave me a lot of help with thinking about what I wanted to write. In fact it was probably reading this book that really pushed me to start in the first place. That’s probably the best compliment of a book, I think - that it would inspire other people to write something of their own.

2 Likes

I write a little…it’s a hobbie…I wouldn’t call myself “a writer”

2 Likes

Same here I reckon - though if you go by the strictest definition, a writer is just one who writes… right? :wink:

My cousin who also writes and has had one of his short stories published actually prefers the term “writing enthusiast” :grinning:

2 Likes

Yeah. I’ve wrote 3 novels and a novella, but have no real passion about getting them published. The fun is in the writing of them.

4 Likes

Same here. I’ve always been that way with writing and other creative things, I do them just for me really.

Any interest in sharing what your novels were about? Are they are all westerns?

Yes, I’m science fiction writer with some 15 years publishing history in my country, mostly short stories, two novellas and one novelette and few screenplays for comics, now I’m very intensively working on two novels.

3 Likes